The IPL 2024 final at Chennai saw a historic low as Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) were bowled out for a mere 113 runs in 18.3 overs, marking the lowest total ever recorded in an IPL final. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) showcased a superb bowling performance, with standout contributions from Andre Russell, Mitchell Starc, and Harshit Rana, to decimate SRH and place one hand firmly on the IPL trophy. Let’s delve into the match and the remarkable bowling efforts that led to this unprecedented low score.

The Collapse: SRH’s Innings in Disarray

Fall of Wickets:

  1. 2-1 (Abhishek Sharma, 0.5 ov):
    Abhishek Sharma was the first to go, falling to Mitchell Starc after scoring just 2 runs off 5 balls. This early strike set the tone for SRH’s collapse.
  2. 6-2 (Travis Head, 1.6 ov):
    Travis Head followed soon, dismissed by Vaibhav Arora for a golden duck, leaving SRH struggling at 6/2.
  3. 21-3 (Rahul Tripathi, 4.2 ov):
    Rahul Tripathi’s departure for 9 runs off 13 balls added to SRH’s woes, with Ramandeep Singh claiming his wicket.
  4. 47-4 (Nitish Reddy, 6.6 ov):
    Nitish Reddy’s brief resistance ended with him scoring 13 off 10 balls before falling to Harshit Rana.
  5. 62-5 (Aiden Markram, 10.2 ov):
    Captain Aiden Markram was dismissed for 20 off 23 balls by Andre Russell, further sinking SRH to 62/5.
  6. 71-6 (Shahbaz Ahmed, 11.5 ov):
    Shahbaz Ahmed, who showed some intent with 8 runs off 4 balls, was removed by Varun Chakaravarthy.
  7. 81-7 (Heinrich Klaasen, 14.1 ov):
    Heinrich Klaasen, who was trying to stabilize the innings, was dismissed by Russell for 11 runs.
  8. 93-8 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 16.3 ov):
    Bhuvneshwar Kumar added a meager 7 runs before falling to Starc.
  9. 105-9 (Pat Cummins, 18.1 ov):
    Pat Cummins contributed 10 runs before being dismissed by Harshit Rana.
  10. 113 all out (Jaydev Unadkat, 18.3 ov):
    The innings wrapped up with Jaydev Unadkat’s dismissal, securing KKR’s dominance.

KKR Bowlers: Leading the Charge

Andre Russell: The Wrecking Ball

Andre Russell delivered a lethal spell, claiming 3 wickets for just 19 runs. His ability to break partnerships and dismiss key batsmen was pivotal in throttling SRH’s scoring rate and ensuring their collapse.

Mitchell Starc: The Pace Spearhead

Mitchell Starc, with his fiery pace and precision, took 2 wickets while conceding only 14 runs. His early breakthrough and consistent pressure were instrumental in dismantling SRH’s top order.

Harshit Rana: The Middle-Over Specialist

Harshit Rana was exceptional in the middle overs, taking 2 crucial wickets and conceding just 24 runs in his 4 overs. His tight lines and clever variations stifled the SRH batsmen.

Vaibhav Arora and Varun Chakaravarthy: The Support Act

Vaibhav Arora and Varun Chakaravarthy complemented the main bowlers effectively. Arora’s early breakthrough and Varun’s tight economy further piled on the pressure, making it a comprehensive bowling performance from KKR.

Historical Context: IPL Finals’ Lowest Totals

Before this final, the lowest totals in IPL finals were:

  • 125/9 by CSK against MI in Kolkata, 2013
  • 128/6 by RPS against MI in Hyderabad, 2017
  • 129/8 by MI against RPS in Hyderabad, 2017

Today’s total of 113 by SRH has set a new record for the lowest score in an IPL final, underlining the dominance of KKR’s bowling attack.

KKR’s bowlers executed a masterful performance in the IPL 2024 final, skittling SRH for a mere 113 runs in 18.3 overs. The strategic brilliance and relentless pressure applied by Andre Russell, Mitchell Starc, and Harshit Rana ensured that SRH never got off the ground. This historic low score will be remembered as a testament to KKR’s outstanding bowling prowess. With such a comprehensive bowling display, KKR has positioned themselves strongly to claim the IPL 2024 title, showcasing why they are one of the most formidable teams in the league.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *